History of KSRTC

In order to cater to the transport needs of the travelling public of the then state of Mysore, Mysore Government Road Transport Department (MGRTD) was inaugurated with 120 buses on 12th September 1948.
The State Transport, which wasbeing administered as a Department of the Govt. of Mysore was subsequently converted into an independent Corporation under Section 3 of the Road TransportCorporation Act,1950 on 1st of August 1961. The assets and liabilities of MGRTD except those ofBTS unit as on 01-08-1961 were passed on to the new Corporation, whichwas named as MSRTC. The assets and liabilities of the residual MGRTD i.e. of BTS Unit were subsequently passed on to the Corporation on 1st of October1961. Thus, a Corporation was ultimately established for the entire State of Mysore.
At the beginning, the passengertransport services were operated in 6 Divisions - 5 Divisions operating mofussilservices and 1 Division operating city services of Bangalore. It had 37 Depots,2 Regional Workshops and a Central Office at Bangalore. There were 15 permanentand 30 temporary bus stations with 35 ways ide shelters and 104 pick- up shelters. The total numberof emplo yeesdeployed was 9705 and the s taffratio per s chedule was 9.43. The totalnumber of routes operated was 1065 with 1029 schedules and route length of 32,134 miles, average daily scheduledmileage being 127571. The total number ofinter-state routes operated by the Corporation on a reciprocal basis with theneighbouring States were 40 ie., 29 in Maharashtra, 1 in Goa, 7 in AndhraPradesh, 2 in Tamilnadu and 1 in Kerala. The total number of vehicles held was1518 with average vehicleu tilisationof 123.8 miles. The average number of passengers carried per day was 4.35 lakh.The rate of breakdownwas 1.88 and that of accident was 1.19. Earning per Mile (E PM ) realized was 161.6 Ps. , and Cost per Mile ( CPM ) was 127.2 Ps. , resulting in net profit margin of 34.4Ps/mile.
Growth and Progress of KSRTC:
Along with the rapid progressof Karnataka in all spheres of activity , KSRTC has emerged as the best organisationin meeting the aspirations of Kannadigas and the people of neighbouring statesof Karnataka. As at the end of 31-03-1997 , the Corporation operated its servicesin 19 Divisions - 17Divisions operating mofussil services and 2 Division operating city services ofBangalore. It had 108 Depots, 2 Regional Workshops and a Central Office atBangalore. There were 281 permanent and 11 temporary bus stations with 337 wayside shelters and1009 pick- upshelters. The total number of employees deployed was 59033 and the s taff ratio per s chedule was 6.22. The totalnumber of routes operated wa s13273 with 9493 schedules, routelength of 9.49 lakh Kms. and average daily scheduled kms of 31.61 lakh kms. Thetotal number of inter-state routes operated by the Corporation on a reciprocalbasis with the neighbouring states were 602 ie., 282 in Maharashtra, 37 in Goa,223 in Andhra Pradesh, 33 in Tamilnadu and 27 in Kerala. The total number ofvehicles held was 10476 with average v ehicle u tilisation of 299.6 Kms . The average number ofpassengers carried per day was 57.82 lakh. The rate of b reakdown was 0.23 and the rate of a ccident was 0.22. EPKM realized was807.3 Ps. and CPKM was 975.4 Ps. , resulting in net loss margin of 168.1 Ps./Km. on traffic revenue.
Bifurcation of KSRTC:
To increase operationalefficiency, to provide quality transport service to the traveling public and tohave an effective supervision on the operations of the Corporation , the Government of Karnatakaordered for bifurcation of KSRTC into 4 separate Corporation s vide its order No.HTD 127 TRA96 dated 22-02-1997.
Thus, KSRTC was a monolithic State Road TransportUndertaking till 1996-97.  Thereafter, duringthe year 1997-98, the State Government divided KSRTC and carved out two newCorporations, viz., the BangaloreMetropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) with its corporate office at Bangalore and the North West Karnataka Road TransportCorporation, withits corporate office at Hubli.  The Bangalore Metropolitan TransportCorporation which came into being on 15-08-1997 caters exclusively to the cityof Bangalore.  And the North WestKarnataka Road Transport Corporation which came into being with effect from 01-11-1997 caters to the northwestern districts of Karnataka. NWKRTC became financially independent w.e.f. 01-04-1998 under RTC  Act 1982. One more new Corporation called the North East Karnataka Road TransportCorporation was also established with effectfrom    15-08-2000 with its h ead q uarters at Gulbarga to cater to the northeastern districts of Karnataka, which beca me financially independent w.e.f.  01-10-2000. 

 Restructured STU Operations

Present Status (Month of Nov-2020):

KSRTC has its Corporate office atBangalore. Presently, it covers seventeen Districts (Bangalore Urban, BangaloreRural, Ramanagar, Kolar, Chickballapur, Tumkur, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Shivamogga,Mangalore, Udupi, Chickmagalur, Hassan, Mysore, Mandya, Chamarajnagar, Coorg) inthe State under its operational jurisdiction. The Corporation functions in 3 –tier system, i.e., Corporate office, Division office and Depots. There are totally17 Divisions - 16 operating Divisions viz. Bangalore Central, Ramanagar, Tumkur, Kolar, Chickballapur,Mysore City, Mysore Rural, Mandya, Chamarajnagar, Hassan, Chickmagalur,Mangalore, Puttur, Davanagere, Shivamogga, Chitradurga and 1 bus station divisionviz., Kempegowda Bus Station at Bangalore. There are 83 Depots, 2 Regional Workshops, 1Central Training Institute, 4 Regional Training Institutes, 1 Printing Pressand 1 Hospital. KSRTC has a workforce of about 37618 employees. It operates on an average 20.67 lakh kms daily with a fleet sizeof 8492 vehiclesand earns trafficrevenue of Rs. 630.53 lakh daily by catering to 13.66 lakh passengers on an average.It stands 5th amongst STUs in the nation by size.

Last updated date 01-12-2020 03:15 AM
Custom Search

Sort by: